How I made my first 20k Gold WoW

Finally I made it. After 3 years of being poor as the church mice.

How did I finally do it?

I found out by myself that it brings much better money as a startup in collecting things and sell afterwards, because I had absolutely no spare money to max a profession. I mean I did once with my alliance alchemist, but where only able to make some decent profit. All my collected herbs went into leveling my alchemist profession; each product did not sell well.

I always had enough money to buy the repairs and in need could go collect some herbs an made my raid pots.

With my DK running from 58 to 80 I realized that I would like to have a steady income. Even the low level mining ores could be sold for profit. It was insane easy to get the skill up to 250. Thanks to the fast mount and all flight points available. Just some internet research which places to go for farming.
In the 250 range I went to Winterspring. I always loved that area. I needed some extra material from that area to finally being able to provide my jewel crafter with materials for his profession. So reaching 80 I was at least able to have the frost flying skill on a slow mount.
At around that time I came across the page of Gevlon. I read through all is stuff. All his hints and strategies.
So I installed auctioneer and give inscription as profession to my mage. At that time I had no idea how the inscription would work. But this profession gives you money from the start. I think with only 60 skill points you are ready to learn one minor glyph each day. Those glyphs are much rarer than the others.
The algorithm to learn the glyphs take into account what you can produce with your skill. So I started selling immediately for profit several minor glyphs. And stacking more and more herbs. Interestingly, I have now a skill of 430 inscriptions and never picked up a herb myself. I made a profit of 20k something. This was mainly due to the patch that everybody needs a second set of Glyphs for the off speck.
Now with everything cooling down I only make maybe 1-2K a week. The reason is that we have now a lot of more aggressive sellers. They are able to underbid you within 10min. I think they have an add-on for that but at the moment I am only guessing.
Solution for this problem is that you can offer your glyphs directly by undercutting the market in an unofficial way, e.g. I can produce explosive shot, one new glyph out of the book of inscription. I can not sell via AH since someone is monitoring there. Price is between 50-130g.
So I am offering the glyph directly and sell for 40-60g, Still making some nice profit.

For a while I also made a decent profit by producing gems. Some gems can be learned. Some are bop drops from dungeons and some have to be bought from JC daily. So I know that +hit is a very good gem and would be needed a lot. Since the learning is an equivalent to 200g you have to sell some gems with profit to make it worthy.

In the beginning i bought all raw gems for 30-37g could be up to 30 of them. And sell the +hit gems for 50-55g. This way it was not that easy to underbid me. Since at least you have to invest 37-45g for the raw.
Nowadays, the price is down to 20g for raw. And more producers are out. But on occasional days it still works.
With more money coming in you can also think about producing epic necklace or rings. The initial investment is around 6*100g. So you have to sell with profit again.
Here you have the problem that some JC craft those for free if you ask them and have the materials ready.
This is really bad for the economy and I would never do this.

My last and current project is enchanting. Since I can make the scrolls I can put those into the AH also. Let me say even with a tailor in hand this is a very expensive profession in my experience.
And on a side note you can make nice profit in AH as a blacksmith by offering the different rods for the right price. Some have been so much overpriced 350% that I searched an blacksmith myself and tipped him with 10g. So make sure that your rods are in AH always for 24h.
Now the enchanter is 390 and can make useful enchants. It is still very slow, since the material costs are amazingly high and I am still trying only to buy the mats in the 56%-110% range.
At least the scrolls should be selling now.

Outlook: I will try to pick up some more books of glyphs. But it feels more like a Russian roulette at the moment. Some glyphs are driven so ridiculous low that no profit can be made. At the moment I think a good price for a book would be 100g.

With this many professions, I should be able to stabilize my income and make steady progress.

Keep in mind I am only 3 days a week online.

Summary:

It took me 3 month from 1K gold to 30K.
In this time I leveld my mage from 39 to 65
I stuffed my paladin with lots of Naxx 25 /10 epics

Investment per week maybe 10-15 hours.

Good luck to you all

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

