My first experience on Arena 2v2 (80er)

So finally I decide to write something to the world outside. So this is my first post. Free welcome to make comments.

It took me around 4-6 hours of preparation. I changed some of my emblems into epic PVP equip. I was finally lucky to at least get gloves and trousers from Archavon. I had some 1K winter emblems and some 60K honor to spent.
With all sockets used for resilience and proper enchanting I could come up to 710 resilience. I have no idea if this is good or not, but at least it gives me the feeling of preparation.
The rest of the equip is some 213/200 ilvl stuff.

So now it is up to me to find another team member for arena. I don’t like the thought of running with a high equipped and experienced char, since I was quit sure that I don’t even had a clue how to perform well. And man was I right, I had absolutely no clue. Therefore, I want to share my thoughts from yesterday.

I teamed up with a warlock who is an alt of an holy paladin. I meet him some weeks before, where I could join his 5v5. At that time I learned being focus without any resilience is a bad situation.
This warlock has some 1300 spell power which leads to the idea that there will be allot of room for improvement. But he has experience and he is a dot warlock. After our first 2 games which we lost of course I was introduced into the concept of run and hide. Since most games would with our team look like this if opposing team has one healer and one dd. They will try to eliminate the WL. But the damage they do is in the team rating around 800 not that much. It can be handled very easily. Thinks get only tricky if they get me into crowd control chains and do there burst.
So being out of range for there fears, dots, sheep’s was really very helpful.
After I got myself out of the line more and more, we start winning games. Now it comes to the point of communication and executions.

Hitting the right buttons on the right target is tough?

You may ask why? Let me explain the problem. I was always a fan of getting my heal target by pressing the F1 or F2. The bad thing here is if you press F2 you may end up with the pet in target. This at least cost us 3 games.
How do I plan to improve: There are several blogs speaking about gaming devices. I will buy a gamers mouse. I will try to figure out how to use the best key binding. I will build suitable macros for modifiers. I expect all those changes will take me a lot of time. But for now I decided that I will go into that direction.

Did I have fun. Yes due to the skill of my warlock it was great. He had lots of suggestions on special situation and was very positive at the moment I made something right. It is always a very good attitude if you don’t blame a beginner, but instead help to improve and to compliment on the progression.

Lesson learned:

– Blood elf ability to silence enemy caster grants you also 6% mana for free. (Stupid me that I missed that)
– 25% mana regen / min reduces the healing with 50% (autsch, that was a biggest mistake so far)
– 30seconds after poping of wings no pala bubble possible.
– Instant heal holy shock comes skilled with an additional instant small heal. (great while running away)
– If your close weaver is under main attack at the beginning of the match, give him hand of protection (no melee damage anymore), if this runs out give him another hand which transfers damage from him to you.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

