Wednesday Report: Ulduar 25 Session

Hey fellow readers, after nearly 5 days of abstinence I logged into the game yesterday again. I planned nothing concrete; if my fellow 2v2 partner would be online I would have loved to play some games, If not I would continue my scribe business and hope for an Ulduard 25 raid. Wednesday is usually a good day for it, since everybody gets a new ID after the reset. And there are quite some raids outside looking for a healer.
Since, I usually match their equipment wish list and at least have a chance to grab the slot against other competition guys.
Most of the Items I wear are 213ilvl enchanted and socked. So the holy Paladin has around 2200 spell power, 22% crit, 320 mana reg. After I made a quick journey to Oggrima to get the check made I had 15min to prepare the raid. I bought wyrm flask for 30g each (125 Spell power, prolongs after death 1h) made the repair and stacked some symbols for buffing.

Funny side note:
– not even one mage was in the raid.
– on rogue was more offline than online
– raid consists of maybe 2/3 raid interns

My major drawback is that I still lack to heal in big numbers and I have no idea what the reason. (If you look into recount I sit about 1000k to 1700k heals) What is the reason for that?
I have no hots, so I have to spam heals.
I could spam the huge heals 15-20K+ crits: But those are critical since they may hit to late.
If I only spam my small heals: I could heal for ever the many is not going down.
I could use back on of live to heal to target at once. But who should benefit from the main heals.

The main reason is:

I am not familiar with the fights and have no idea what this particular group is going to do. This raid considers themselves as pretty good and no need for explanation.
Everything was addressed in general and nobody felt it would be necessary to say something concrete.

Statements where like:
The overall damage is to bad.
Heals are to bad.

I am quit sure at least for me that I tried to do the best I could. Looking at the Razor drake fight:

A) Healers have a range problem. I had no idea who of the suffering guys would be in range.
B) No healer where assigned to a MT.
C) It was even unclear to me who the 3 MT are.

Part of the problem was: Over TS the Austria guys are really tough to understand for a northern German.

So we wiped. Healers where assigned to their tasks and everything went very smooth up to the moment of phase 2. I had no idea where the MT would move to. As a healer you have to follow otherwise an unlucky situation may occur where you start and a heal and end up out of range. What I did not now, two tanks would be enough to finish the job, so don’t make you to much stress.

We wiped several times on trash on the way to this Boss with arm fights. We had only hunters, warlocks and rogues for good cc. One of the rogue was not following any orders so we had only one zap.
The mood got lower as often as we wiped. For me it was hard to heal. Players with aggro die fast even a tank, that did not start in the beginning but took an add after it got free. Nothing was said from the raid lead so I could only guess.

Moral of the story:

You can kill bosses in Ulduar 25. But for me as always communication is the key. Tell not only dps and cc what they are expected to do, also healer. If you played together frequently just tell the new guy what his role would be.
In the time of MC we had even channels for healers, where they made sure who would heal whom.
I liked the trip into Ulduar even if it ended earlier. I even could pick up some shoulders.

Afterwards I finally downed the last boss of Oculus heroic. We had 5 tries on him. Set up was 2 healers, 2 dps, one tank. We lost one healer but got the job done. The drop was a nice mage damage stuff I would like to have for my alt. So I will be there more often with my mage the moment he will hit 80.

Since this trip again cost me more than 90min I only had a couple of minutes left for my inscription business. I finally set up may AH seller in Oggrima with 4 inscription bags and 100g starting. I will now produce with my mage and sent to the inscription AH alt. I hope to make some money this way.

My weekend plans are not sure yet. Either I will take part in a triathlon some 100km away or will be able to play. (Leveling the mage, he now has 2mio rested exp should be enough for two levels)
If possible I would love to do more 2v2 with my warlock mate.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

